Ideas to Action:

Independent research for global prosperity



October 27, 2004

2004 MCA Threshold Program: A Comment on Country Selection

In September, the Millennium Challenge Corporation named seven countries as eligible for the MCA Threshold Program: Albania, East Timor, Kenya, Sao Tome e Principe, Tanzania, Uganda and Yemen. This paper reviews the selection process and the countries selected, and offers recommendations for improving the program.

Sarah Lucas and Rikhil Bhavnani
October 12, 2004

Round Two of the MCA: Which Countries are Most Likely to Qualify

On August 31, 2004, the Millennium Challenge Corporation (MCC) announced some modest changes in the process it will use to select countries for MCC eligibility in FY 2005. This note examines the new set of indicators and the countries most likely to qualify in round two.

Rikhil Bhavnani