Ideas to Action:

Independent research for global prosperity

X

Views from the Center

Feed

Watch the live webcast here, Feb 23 12:00pm EST:

Live streaming video by Ustream

On February 23, CGD President Nancy Birdsall will deliver the first Kapuscinski Development Lecture of 2016 in Berlin, Germany. Her lecture, “The New Middle Class in the Developing World: Does It Matter?” will take a hard look at what it means to be middle class in developing countries and explore the role of strugglers, the rapidly expanding group of people caught between extreme poverty and the middle class.

Join the conversation on Twitter using #KapTalks — and be sure to follow us at @CGDev!

This prestigious lecture series is a joint initiative of the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP) and the European Commission. Since 2009, the series has been a forum for the world’s top global development thinkers to shape the debate for better development policies in Europe. Past speakers have included Burmese stateswoman and Nobel Laureate Aung San Suu Kyi, UNDP Administrator Helen Clark, and Afghan President Ashraf Ghani.

If you haven’t already, read Nancy’s latest Foreign Affairs op-ed, "Middle-Class Heroes: The Best Guarantee of Good Governance."

Join in person or online February 23 at 6:00 p.m. CET / 5:00 p.m. GMT / 12:00 p.m. EST. If you’re in Berlin on February 23, join the lecture in person at the Hertie School of Governance (details here). Register at events@hertie-school.org.

If you can’t make it in person, tune in via live webcast streamed above, or on the Kapuscinski Development Lectures website.

Check out a trailer for Nancy’s lecture here:

Disclaimer

CGD blog posts reflect the views of the authors drawing on prior research and experience in their areas of expertise. CGD does not take institutional positions.