Evening Details


Honorary Committee

Senator John Kerry
Senator Richard Lugar
Honorary Committee Co-Chairs


The Honorable Madeleine K. Albright
former Secretary of State, U.S. Department of State

The Honorable Kofi Annan
former Secretary-General of the UN

Representative Kevin Brady

Dr. Gro Harlem Brundtland
former Norwegian Prime Minister & Director of the WHO

Representative Barney Frank

The Honorable William H. Frist, M.D.
former U.S. Senator

Representative Kay Granger

The Honorable Chuck Hagel
former U.S. Senator

Eveline Herfkens
former Development Minister,
The Netherlands

Ambassador Carla A. Hills
Chair & CEO, Hills & Company,
f ormer U.S. Trade Representative

Representative Jesse L. Jackson, Jr.

Hilde F. Johnson
Deputy Executive Director,
United Nations Children's Fund

Sir Tim Lankester
former President of Corpus Christi College, University of Oxford

Representative Nita M. Lowey

Minister Trevor Manuel
Minister of the National Planning Commission, South Africa

The Right Honourable Paul Martin
former Prime Minister of Canada

Representative Betty McCollum

Representative Donald Payne

The Honorable Colin L. Powell
former Secretary of State, U.S. Department of State and Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff

Changyong Rhee
Chief Economist,
Asian Development Bank

Dr. Rajiv Shah
Administrator, USAID

Her Excellency President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf
Republic of Liberia

Heidemarie Wieczorek-Zeul
former German Minister of Economic Cooperation and Development,
Member of the German Bundestag

James D. Wolfensohn
former President, World Bank, and Chairman, International Advisory Board Citigroup Inc.

The Honorable Ernesto Zedillo
Director, Yale Center for the Study of Globalization
former President of Mexico


Dinner Committee

Nicky, Jennifer and Jonathan Oppenheimer
Dinner Co-Chairs


Edward Scott
CGD Board Chair


Bernard Aronson
John Birdsall
Nancy Birdsall
Stephen Cashin
Alexander Cummings
Thomas Gibian
Bruns Grayson
Brad Horwitz
Susan B. Levine
Mark Malloch-Brown
John McCall MacBain
Edward E. McNally
John T. Reid
Sheryl Sandberg
Patty Stonesifer
Toni G. Verstandig
Adam Waldman

Embassy Progressive Dinner
in celebration of our 10th Anniversary

Wednesday, June 8, 2011


The Residence of The British Ambassador and Lady Sheinwald

Embassy of Finland
H.E. Ambassador of Finland Pekka Lintu and Mrs. Laurel Colless

The Residence of The Ambassador of Norway
H.E. Wegger Chr. Strommen and Rev. Dr. Cecilie J. Strommen


Edward W. Scott Jr. Equity Advocate Awardee
Donald Kaberuka
President, African Development Bank


Join us for an evening with individuals working on and influencing policy in the development sphere: ambassadors, members of the U.S. Congress, current and former heads of state, corporate executives, philanthropists, academics and friends to celebrate CGD's work and honor Donald Kaberuka’s efforts and success in rebuilding the African Development Bank and as a strong voice for Africa during the financial crisis, and on global issues like climate change.

CGD@10 Prosperity Policy Breakfast
Multilateral Institutions in a G-20 World
Astor Ballroom and Terrace, The St. Regis
923 16th and K Streets, NW, Washington, DC 20006
8:30-10:00 AM

Hosted by:
Nancy Birdsall
President, Center for Global Development

Featured Panelists:
Dr. Kemal Dervis
former Administrator, United Nations Development Programme
Vice President and Director of Global Economy and Development,
The Brookings Institution

Dr. Antoinette Sayeh
Director of the African Department, International Monetary Fund
former Finance Minister of Liberia

James D. Wolfensohn
Chairman, International Advisory Board, Citigroup Inc.
former President, World Bank

The Honorable Ernesto Zedillo
Director, Yale Center for the Study of Globalization
former President of Mexico