Ideas to Action:

Independent research for global prosperity

UNAIDS Transition

Read and Comment on the Background Report for UNAIDS Leadership Transition Working Group

Since UNAIDS was established in 1996 the face of the pandemic, the scope and nature of the response, and the range of challenges facing the global community have all changed. The departure of the founding UNAIDS executive director is an opportune time to re-consider the role, responsibilities and opportunities for UNAIDS.

At this important juncture, CGD and the Global Economic Governance Programme of Oxford University have convened the UNAIDS Transition Working Group. The Working Group includes individuals with expertise in global health and development policy, HIV/AIDS programs and policies, and other relevant fields. The Working Group is independent of UNAIDS. Consultations with stakeholders will be an important part of the Working Group’s deliberations. A background paper which synthesizes information from official sources, academic literature and interviews with key informants will serve as a point of departure for these discussions.

Leadership and Composition


  • Ruth Levine
  • Ngaire Woods

Senior Researcher

  • Devi Sridhar, director of the Global Health Governance project, Global Economic Governance Programme, Oxford University

Working Group Members

  • Joanne Csete, The Firelight Foundation
  • Siddharth Dube, Specialist Commentator
  • Tim Evans, World Health Organization
  • Jacob Gayle, Ford Foundation
  • Geeta Rao Gupta, International Center for Research on Women (ICRW)
  • Jim Kim, Harvard University
  • Michael Merson, Duke University
  • Lillian Mworeko, International Community of Women living with HIV/AIDS
  • Nandini Oomman, Center for Global Development
  • Elizabeth Pisani
  • Nana Poku, University of Bradford
  • Asia Russell, Health Global Access Project (HealthGap)
  • Todd Summers, Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation
  • Alan Whiteside, University of KwaZulu-Natal
  • Anandi Yuvaraj, International Community of Women Living with HIV/AIDS (ICW)

Program Coordinators

  • Katie Stein
  • Danielle Kuczynski
  • Kristie Latulippe