Ideas to Action:

Independent research for global prosperity

Conference

Blended Development Finance and the New Industrial Policy

Thursday, November 8, 2018 - 8:00am to Friday, November 9, 2018 - 6:45pm

Catch up on the discussion

Development Finance Institutions at the Crossroads, featuring Nancy Birdsall, Colin Buckley, and Alan Rousso

 

Lessons from Blended Finance featuring Nancy Lee, Liang Wang, Kathryn Imboden, Shanaz Patel, and Maria Teresa Zappia

 

Listen to all the sessions:

 

Interested in more?

  • Listen to a podcast with panelist Martin Chrisney, a senior director at KPMG, who shares a private-sector perspective on financing the SDGs.

  • Listen to a podcast with panelist Stephany Griffith-Jones discussing her new book on the national development banks

  • Watch CGD President Masood Ahmed and CGD Board Member John Lipsky discuss their biggest takeaways from the conference in this Graduate Institute video

The conference

The Center for Global DevelopmentCDC Group, and the Centre for Finance and Development are pleased to invite you to the international conference Blended Development Finance and the New Industrial Policy on November 8-9, 2018 at the Graduate Institute Geneva

This unique conference is designed to convene both the new industrial policy thinkers, who have studied the history of government intervention, and blended finance practitioners, who are involved in setting up the institutions and procedures that will use official development finance to subsidise private enterprise in developing countries. These two communities too often work in isolation and have much to learn from each other. 

The conference will combine scholar presentations with high-level policy discussions. Please see the programme for a list of sessions and speakers, in addition to more details about the conference. 

Two sessions will be livestreamed on this page:

  • Development Finance Institutions at the Crossroads, featuring Nancy Birdsall, Colin Buckley, and Alan Rousso on Thursday, November 8 at 6:15am EST/11:15AM BST/12:15pm CEST.

  • Lessons from Blended Finance featuring Nancy Lee, Liang Wang, Kathryn Imboden, Shanaz Patel, and Maria Teresa Zappia on Friday, November 9 at 10:00am EST/3:00pm BST/4:00pm CEST.

Please join us for this “first of its kind” conference and feel free to share this invitation with your network and encourage your colleagues to attend or tune in to the livestream. We want to reach as many people who work in private sector development as possible. 

Please do not hesitate to reach out to sdf@cgdev.org if you have any questions. Free entrance. Registration required to attend.

Related Experts

Photo of Mark Plant
Director of Development Finance and Senior Policy Fellow
Photo of Masood Ahmed
President
Photo of Nancy Birdsall
Senior Fellow, President Emeritus
Photo of Nancy Lee
Senior Policy Fellow

Graduate Institute of International and Development Studies
Chemin Eugène-Rigot 2, 1202 Genève, Switzerland